From Student to Teacher

From Student to Teacher

It’s been 16 days since classes have ended. 10 days since my last final for my degree. And  8 days since I started solo teaching. That’s right you read that correctly, 2 days after I wrote my final exam I started teaching. Thankfully I didn’t jump head first in by myself right away and got to  shadow the sub for a couple days. That was a relief.

I adore the school I am working with! It is one of neighbouring towns around where I went to school and I even played basketball with them during my grade 12. They were like my school away from school. My mom went to this school and I still have cousins growing up there. I only teach one of them and it is only a tiny bit awkward (ha!).

I teach predominately grade 5 and 6 with a little grade 7 and 8 ELA and some RTI. I honestly love teaching middle years. I know I specialized in high school mathematics and physical education, but the more I work with the middle years grade the more I think they are a right fit for me.

So here it is a quick update from the adventures of Ms. Nyhus. I wish I could promise that I would blog regularly but we all know that won’t happen because I have way to much work to be doing.  I am procrastinating at the moment. This does make me rethink my plans for the future, but I am more than happy to take this challenge head  on! I hope you enjoyed my short post and cheers to the weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

