Dream Big

Dream Big

24658578135_5857eb88ce_b
Photo Credit: symphony of love via Compfight cc

Lately, I’ve been thinking about dreams. Not like my last post about what goes on in your head when you sleep. But, something that you’ve wanted for so long to do or experience.

To tell you about one of my dreams, we have to go back a couple of years. 2011 to be exact when I was 16 years old. During Easter break that year I got to go to London, Paris and Rome with my Mom, my Sister and a bunch of other people.

228396_121573487923604_7742834_n
Here we are at the Colosseum! Look how young and dorky I look! Throwback Thursday only it’s Monday.

It was a school trip that was held by a neighbouring school that anyone could sign up for. But the biggest thing, when I went over there I fell in love with London. I said on that day I would eventually come back. Honestly, if I wouldn’t have been accepted in the Education Program here in Regina, my backup plan was to au pair (nanny in another country) in London. Wouldn’t that be strange! I wonder what my life would be like.

But back to reality, I got accepted, enjoyed most moments here, and now I am on a job hunt.  So how does this fit into my dream? Well, I have been looking into going and teaching in London starting in September. I’ve had several phone/skype interviews with agencies and have finally found one I like. I’m looking into schools and getting ready to meet headmasters. Somebody pinch me, please!

I am beyond excited for this experience but terrified at the same time. I have never lived on my own and now I am planning to move overseas. I’m going to miss my family, boyfriend, and fur babies more than anything, but I know I’ll regret it if I don’t do it. This has been something I dreamed about since I was 16 and now 5 years later my dream might become a reality.

Have you ever had a dream so close you could reach out and grab it? Did you ever regret not doing something? I would love to have any someone tell me about their international teaching experience.

5 thoughts on “Dream Big

  1. Hi Brea,
    I do not have any international teaching experience, so I don’t know how helpful I will be. I was inspired by your dream and your determination to pursue that dream. I often wonder what life would be like if I chose to apply to another university or move to a different place. I believe that our time at the University of Regina has played a large role in our development. I believe that every experience is valuable, and every situation is an opportunity to learn and grow. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, and I wish you the best of luck in your job search!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Brea!

    Which company has caught your interest? I’m currently looking at finding a place to work in Leeds and I think Lothian is investigating the UK (Scotland maybe?). We may have to forum a UK Triumvirate!

    You won’t regret trying out the UK. If you end up disliking it, you’ll still be happy that you went. No fear – you got dis!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Zach! I am with Impact right now, I had a friend recommend it! I think the most nerve wracking thing will be being so far away from family and friends. I have never been more than an hour away from the people I love and now I am considering uprooting my whole life. I am so happy to have such a wonderful support system though everyone keeps saying this is going to be an amazing experience. It is hard not to get very excited! We must have a math get together if were all over there!

      Like

  3. Your post is really inspiring! It’s amazing to see that you are following your dreams! I too often wonder how my life would be if I wouldn’t have came to Regina– but my time here has definitely shaped who I am today. Good luck with your dreams, thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

