I CAN…

I CAN…

… create a blog that people actually read (ha!)

This week we talked a lot about creating “I can” statements for in the classroom. For me this was a very new concept I have heard and spent a lot of time working with SWBAT (students will be able to) statements but never have I heard of “I can”. Outcomes, indicators and even SWBAT can be confusing for students. “I can” statements are unique because they break down outcomes and indicators into student-friendly sentences where the students can actually understand what is expected. With “I can” statements a teacher can write them on the board or hand it out on a piece of paper and bam! students will know exactly what they will be able to do by the end of the class.

I think this is beneficial for students because they at the beginning of the class what you want to accomplish and what is expected of them at the end of the class. With expectations set right away in the beginning of the class I feel like students will be able to focus more. They are able to take more control of their own learning which I think is a wonderful thing for students to do.

2 thoughts on “I CAN…

  1. I really liked your opener. I did actually laugh. (I am that person). I also grew up with SWBAT also and thought this was nicer simpler approach. Do you think using I can strategies will be helpful making your unit plans outside this class? In all things or just a few? And how? Do you think I can statements would be work for another subject compared to others?

    There might have been too many questions. I just am working on my questioning skills.

    Like

    1. For students I really like the I can statements. They are simpler and easier to understand. For myself I am struggling with creating I can statements because I haven’t had any experience with it, but I do believe they have value in unit plans. As a teacher I believe that working backwards is useful, figure out what you want the students to know/be able to do and then plan according to that. All subjects should be able to use I can statements, some outcomes might be harder to work with but it comes down to how well you know the curriculum. Thanks for all the questions hopefully this helps!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

