Autobiography

Autobiography

Being able to reflect is an important thing in our teaching careers. To grow as teachers we need to be able to reflect on oneself and “…we need to put front and center they very things we do not want…” (Kumashiro, pg. 41) Very little did I speak about gender, race and culture in my autobiography, even though I didn’t realize it at the time has had a huge impact on who I am now. I never considered myself “different”, I was a heterosexual, white female who grew up in the middle class. I fit into the “norm” of society and because of this I didn’t ever encounter discrimination. I will teach unfortunately many students who are faced with the problems that I didn’t. The lenses that I have been wearing have hidden a crucial part to some students lives and I need to take off my lenses that I have had on my whole life to really be able to educate my students.

4 thoughts on “Autobiography

  1. So with this in mind, would you have written your autobiography differently? Or do you think your gender, sexuality, “race”, etc. matter to you and/or how you have developed as a teacher?

    Like

  2. It’s hard to look at what privileges you are afforded with in life when you’ve been living in it. I struggle with this too, but seeing others’ point of views and worldviews is crucial to becoming a good teacher.

    Like

Leave a Reply

